2019 Awards

Sanchita Bhatnagar, PhD

A novel, effective microRNA-based gene therapy approach for Rett Syndrome 

Sanchita Bhatnagar, PhD – Department of Biochemistry and Molecular GeneticsHoward Goodkin, PhD – Department of Neurology

Meghan Puglia, PhD

Brain Signal Entropy and Oxytocin Receptor Epigenetics: Neurobiological Markers of Social Developmental Variability 

Meghan Puglia, PhD – Department of Neurology, Kevin Pelphrey, PhD – Department of Neurology, James Morris, PhD – Department of Psychology, Tobias Grossmann, PhD – Department of Psychology, Jessica Connelly, PhD – Department of Psychology

James Morris, PhD

Epigenetic aging is associated with cognitive decline and intrinsic neural connectivity 

James Morris, PhD – Department of Psychology, Jessica Connelly, PhD – Department of Psychology

Jessica Connelly, PhD

Epigenetic Consequences of Maternal Oxytocin Treatment in Offspring 

Jessica Connelly, PhD – Department of Psychology, Patrick Grant, PhD – Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics

Sarah Kucenas, PhD

Facilitating axon regeneration via boosting phagocytosis and an apoptotic metabolite mix 

Sarah Kucenas, PhD – Department of Biology, Kodi Ravichandran, PhD – Department of Microbiology, Immunology and Cancer Biology

Wendy Lynch, PhD

Identifying Novel Targets for the Treatment of Opioid Use Disorder  

Wendy Lynch, PhD – Department of Psychiatry and Neurobehavioral Sciences and Neuroscience, Patrick Grant, PhD – Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics, David Auble, PhD – Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics

Ammasi Periasamy, PhD

In vivo 2-photon fluorescence lifetime imaging to track metabolic changes in live Alzheimer’s disease model mouse brains 

Ammasi Periasamy, PhD – Department of Biology, Andres Norambuena, PhD – Department of Biology, George Bloom, PhD – Department of Biology

Tobias Grossmann, PhD

Investigating the role of the microbiome in early brain and behavioral development 

Tobias Grossmann, PhD – Department of Psychology, Jeanne Alhusen, PhD – Department of Psychology, Caitlin Dreisbach, PhD – Department of Psychology, Caroline Kelsey, PhD – Department of Psychology

Sarah Miller, DO

NICU Predictive Analytics for Cognitive and Behavioral Disabilities 

Sarah Miller, DO – Department of Pediatrics, Kevin Pelphrey, PhD – Department of Neurology, Robert Andris, PhD – Department of Medicine

Edward Perez-Reyes, PhD

The role of microglial P2Y12 receptors in a novel model of temporal lobe epilepsy 

Edward Perez-Reyes, PhD – Department of Pharmacology, Ukpong Eyo, PhD – Department of Neuroscience

Craig Meyer, PhD

Thermal Dose Effects on the Diffusional Properties of Neuronal Tissue 

Craig Meyer, PhD – Department of Biomedical Engineering Jeffrey Elias, PhD – Department of Neurosurgery

Jay Hirsh, PhD

Transcriptional response of the midbrain dopamine system to stress

Jay Hirsh, PhD – Department of Biology, Jessica Connelly, PhD – Department of Psychology